Assimp

From Spring
Revision as of 00:45, 15 February 2013 by Carrepairer (talk | contribs) (Added new tutorial.)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigationJump to search

Development < Game Development < Assimp

Blender Workflow Tutorial

This is a stub containing a simple outline of a Blender workflow. Disclaimer: I'm not modeling expert, there may be a better way to do this.


  1. Open an existing Blender model or import a different format through the File menu (File > Import).
  2. In the 3D view, drag out the secret panel from the right.
  3. In that panel, select Display > Shading > GLSL.
  4. Make sure you have a lamp in your scene while in this mode or your model will be dark.
  5. Applying texture:
    1. In the UV/Image editor, click the image icon (Tooltip: Browse Image to be linked) to select your texture. If it's not there, click on Image > Open Image to browse for it.
    2. In the 3D View, select (right-click) your object and hit Tab to enter Mesh Mode.
    3. Hit A to select all your faces.
    4. In the 3D View, hit A to select all the faces there and select your image with the image icon. Assuming there's a UVMap, you should see your texture.
    5. <Future space for setting up UVMap and normalmap>
    6. You'll need to do this for each piece.
  6. Piece hierarchy:
    1. Select piece A, hold shift and select piece B. Hit Ctrl+P and it will make piece A a child of piece B.
    2. Make sure all the pieces are descending from one single piece.
  7. Setting piece origins:
    1. Select a piece.
    2. Place the 3D cursor where you want the origin to be (left-click).
    3. Click on Object > Transform > Origin to 3D Cursor.
    4. You can now rotate your pieces:
      1. Click on the dropdown "Pivot Center for Rotation/Scaling" and select Individual Origins.
      2. Rotate.
    5. Do this for all your pieces.
  8. Preparing for Spring:
    1. Select your root piece.
    2. Press Shift-C to put the 3D cursor in the center of the world.
    3. Click on the dropdown "Pivot Center for Rotation/Scaling" and select 3D Cursor.
    4. Rotate your whole model so that it's -90 degrees. Unfortunately this appears to be only doable with the mouse (when using 3D cursor).
    5. Click Object > Apply > Rotation & Scale.
  9. Save your model.
  10. Select all the pieces of your model, ignore the lamp.
  11. Click on File > Export > Collada.
  12. Check "Export Only Selected" and export.
  13. The dae file will be used as your object.