Assimp: Difference between revisions

From Spring
Jump to navigationJump to search
Smoth (talk | contribs)
Flozi (talk | contribs)
m recat
Line 78: Line 78:




[[Category:Game development]]
[[Category:3D Models]]

Revision as of 10:05, 21 March 2013

Development < Game Development < Assimp

Assimp

Open Asset Import Library (short name: Assimp) is used in Spring for loading a number of model formats including Collada & 3ds (currently obj is parsed by a different codepaths).

What Spring supports in its Assimp renderer:

  • extended metafile (%modelfilename%.lua next to the modefile)
  • still uses tex1 & tex2 texture system of S3O (same shader as S3O)
  • 2nd texcoord
  • loading of the texture filepaths from the model (don't have to be in unittextures/)
  • when texture filepaths aren't included in the model, it searches for %modelfilename%.* & %modelfilename%2.* in unittextures/
  • special modelpieces `SpringHeight` & `SpringRadius`


Blender Workflow Tutorial

This is a stub containing a simple outline of a Blender workflow. Disclaimer: I'm no modeling expert, there may be a better way to do this.



1) Open an existing Blender model or import a different format through the File menu (File > Import).
2) In the 3D view, at the top right, there will be a '+' icon. click this secret panel
3) In that panel, select Display > Shading > GLSL display settings
4) Make sure you have a lamp in your scene while in this mode or your model will be dark. blend light source
5) Applying texture:
    1. In the UV/Image editor, click the image icon (Tooltip: Browse Image to be linked) to select your texture. If it's not there, click on Image > Open Image to browse for it.
    2. In the 3D View, select (right-click) your object and hit Tab to enter Mesh Mode.
    3. Hit A to select all your faces.
    4. In the 3D View, hit A to select all the faces there and select your image with the image icon. Assuming there's a UVMap, you should see your texture.
    5. If you don't see any faces you'll need to add the UVMap to a new texture:
      1. In the Properties view click on Textures (checkerboard icon).
      2. Click on Add New Texture (plus icon).
      3. Select Type = Image or Movie.
      4. Under Image, click on the image icon and choose your image file.
      5. Under Mapping, select Coordinates = UV.
      6. Under Influence > Diffuse, check Color and make sure it's 1.00.
    6. To add a normalmap:
      1. Repeat steps 5.1 to 5.5.
      2. Under Image Sampling, check Normal Map.
      3. Under Influence > Geometry, check Normal. Make sure it.s 1.00.
    7. You'll need to do this for each piece.
7) Piece hierarchy:
    1. Select piece A, hold shift and select piece B. Hit Ctrl+P and it will make piece A a child of piece B.
    2. Make sure all the pieces are descending from one single piece.
  1. Setting piece origins:
    1. Select a piece.
    2. Place the 3D cursor where you want the origin to be (left-click).
    3. Click on Object > Transform > Origin to 3D Cursor.
    4. You can now rotate your pieces:
      1. Click on the dropdown "Pivot Center for Rotation/Scaling" and select Individual Origins.
      2. Rotate.
    5. Repeat this for all your pieces.
  2. Save your model.
  3. Select all the pieces of your model, ignore the lamp.
  4. Click on File > Export > Collada.
  5. Check "Export Only Selected" and export.
  6. The dae file will be used as your object.