Assimp: Difference between revisions
From Spring
Jump to navigationJump to search
Carrepairer (talk | contribs) Added new tutorial. |
Carrepairer (talk | contribs) |
||
| Line 15: | Line 15: | ||
## Hit A to select all your faces. | ## Hit A to select all your faces. | ||
## In the 3D View, hit A to select all the faces there and select your image with the image icon. Assuming there's a UVMap, you should see your texture. | ## In the 3D View, hit A to select all the faces there and select your image with the image icon. Assuming there's a UVMap, you should see your texture. | ||
## | ## If you don't see any faces you'll need to add the UVMap to a new texture: | ||
### In the Properties view click on Textures (checkerboard icon). | |||
### Click on Add New Texture (plus icon). | |||
### Select Type = Image or Movie. | |||
### Under Image, click on the image icon and choose your image file. | |||
### Under Mapping, select Coordinates = UV. | |||
### Under Influence > Diffuse, check Color and make sure it's 1.00. | |||
## To add a normalmap: | |||
### Repeat steps 5.1 to 5.5. | |||
### Under Image Sampling, check Normal Map. | |||
### Under Influence > Geometry, check Normal. Make sure it.s 1.00. | |||
## You'll need to do this for each piece. | ## You'll need to do this for each piece. | ||
# Piece hierarchy: | # Piece hierarchy: | ||
Revision as of 00:56, 15 February 2013
Development < Game Development < Assimp
Blender Workflow Tutorial
This is a stub containing a simple outline of a Blender workflow. Disclaimer: I'm not modeling expert, there may be a better way to do this.
- Open an existing Blender model or import a different format through the File menu (File > Import).
- In the 3D view, drag out the secret panel from the right.
- In that panel, select Display > Shading > GLSL.
- Make sure you have a lamp in your scene while in this mode or your model will be dark.
- Applying texture:
- In the UV/Image editor, click the image icon (Tooltip: Browse Image to be linked) to select your texture. If it's not there, click on Image > Open Image to browse for it.
- In the 3D View, select (right-click) your object and hit Tab to enter Mesh Mode.
- Hit A to select all your faces.
- In the 3D View, hit A to select all the faces there and select your image with the image icon. Assuming there's a UVMap, you should see your texture.
- If you don't see any faces you'll need to add the UVMap to a new texture:
- In the Properties view click on Textures (checkerboard icon).
- Click on Add New Texture (plus icon).
- Select Type = Image or Movie.
- Under Image, click on the image icon and choose your image file.
- Under Mapping, select Coordinates = UV.
- Under Influence > Diffuse, check Color and make sure it's 1.00.
- To add a normalmap:
- Repeat steps 5.1 to 5.5.
- Under Image Sampling, check Normal Map.
- Under Influence > Geometry, check Normal. Make sure it.s 1.00.
- You'll need to do this for each piece.
- Piece hierarchy:
- Select piece A, hold shift and select piece B. Hit Ctrl+P and it will make piece A a child of piece B.
- Make sure all the pieces are descending from one single piece.
- Setting piece origins:
- Select a piece.
- Place the 3D cursor where you want the origin to be (left-click).
- Click on Object > Transform > Origin to 3D Cursor.
- You can now rotate your pieces:
- Click on the dropdown "Pivot Center for Rotation/Scaling" and select Individual Origins.
- Rotate.
- Do this for all your pieces.
- Preparing for Spring:
- Select your root piece.
- Press Shift-C to put the 3D cursor in the center of the world.
- Click on the dropdown "Pivot Center for Rotation/Scaling" and select 3D Cursor.
- Rotate your whole model so that it's -90 degrees. Unfortunately this appears to be only doable with the mouse (when using 3D cursor).
- Click Object > Apply > Rotation & Scale.
- Save your model.
- Select all the pieces of your model, ignore the lamp.
- Click on File > Export > Collada.
- Check "Export Only Selected" and export.
- The dae file will be used as your object.