Assimp: Difference between revisions
From Spring
Jump to navigationJump to search
No edit summary |
|||
| Line 16: | Line 16: | ||
This is a stub containing a simple outline of a Blender workflow. Disclaimer: I'm no modeling expert, there may be a better way to do this. | This is a stub containing a simple outline of a Blender workflow. Disclaimer: I'm no modeling expert, there may be a better way to do this. | ||
<td>[[File:3-12-2013 5-02-04 PM.png‎‎|display settings]]</td></ | <table> | ||
<tr><td valign="top">'''1)''' Open an existing Blender model or import a different format through the File menu (File > Import).</td> | |||
</td><td> [[File:3-12-2013_5-11-14_PM.png‎‎|blend light source]]</td></table> | </tr> | ||
<tr><td valign="top">'''2)''' In the 3D view, at the top right, there will be a '+' icon. click this </td> | |||
<td> [[File:3-12-2013 5-02-21 PM.png‎‎|secret panel]]</td> | |||
</tr> | |||
<tr><td valign="top">'''3)''' In that panel, select Display > Shading > GLSL </td> | |||
<td>[[File:3-12-2013 5-02-04 PM.png‎‎|display settings]]</td> | |||
</tr> | |||
<tr><td valign="top">'''4)''' Make sure you have a lamp in your scene while in this mode or your model will be dark. | |||
<small>by default they blender's starting file will have this</small></td> | |||
<td> [[File:3-12-2013_5-11-14_PM.png‎‎|blend light source]]</td></table> | |||
# Applying texture: | # Applying texture: | ||
## In the UV/Image editor, click the image icon (Tooltip: Browse Image to be linked) to select your texture. If it's not there, click on Image > Open Image to browse for it. | ## In the UV/Image editor, click the image icon (Tooltip: Browse Image to be linked) to select your texture. If it's not there, click on Image > Open Image to browse for it. | ||
Revision as of 03:20, 13 March 2013
Development < Game Development < Assimp
Assimp
Open Asset Import Library (short name: Assimp) is used in Spring for loading a number of model formats including Collada & 3ds (currently obj is parsed by a different codepaths).
What Spring supports in its Assimp renderer:
- extended metafile (
%modelfilename%.luanext to the modefile) - still uses tex1 & tex2 texture system of S3O (same shader as S3O)
- 2nd texcoord
- loading of the texture filepaths from the model (don't have to be in
unittextures/) - when texture filepaths aren't included in the model, it searches for
%modelfilename%.*&%modelfilename%2.*inunittextures/ - special modelpieces `SpringHeight` & `SpringRadius`
Blender Workflow Tutorial
This is a stub containing a simple outline of a Blender workflow. Disclaimer: I'm no modeling expert, there may be a better way to do this.
| 1) Open an existing Blender model or import a different format through the File menu (File > Import). | |
| 2) In the 3D view, at the top right, there will be a '+' icon. click this | secret panel |
| 3) In that panel, select Display > Shading > GLSL | display settings |
| 4) Make sure you have a lamp in your scene while in this mode or your model will be dark. by default they blender's starting file will have this | blend light source |
- Applying texture:
- In the UV/Image editor, click the image icon (Tooltip: Browse Image to be linked) to select your texture. If it's not there, click on Image > Open Image to browse for it.
- In the 3D View, select (right-click) your object and hit Tab to enter Mesh Mode.
- Hit A to select all your faces.
- In the 3D View, hit A to select all the faces there and select your image with the image icon. Assuming there's a UVMap, you should see your texture.
- If you don't see any faces you'll need to add the UVMap to a new texture:
- In the Properties view click on Textures (checkerboard icon).
- Click on Add New Texture (plus icon).
- Select Type = Image or Movie.
- Under Image, click on the image icon and choose your image file.
- Under Mapping, select Coordinates = UV.
- Under Influence > Diffuse, check Color and make sure it's 1.00.
- To add a normalmap:
- Repeat steps 5.1 to 5.5.
- Under Image Sampling, check Normal Map.
- Under Influence > Geometry, check Normal. Make sure it.s 1.00.
- You'll need to do this for each piece.
- Piece hierarchy:
- Select piece A, hold shift and select piece B. Hit Ctrl+P and it will make piece A a child of piece B.
- Make sure all the pieces are descending from one single piece.
- Setting piece origins:
- Select a piece.
- Place the 3D cursor where you want the origin to be (left-click).
- Click on Object > Transform > Origin to 3D Cursor.
- You can now rotate your pieces:
- Click on the dropdown "Pivot Center for Rotation/Scaling" and select Individual Origins.
- Rotate.
- Repeat this for all your pieces.
- Save your model.
- Select all the pieces of your model, ignore the lamp.
- Click on File > Export > Collada.
- Check "Export Only Selected" and export.
- The dae file will be used as your object.